Have I told you lately that I love you?

I can’t even begin to imagine the pain that a parent goes through when they lose a child. Today one of my colleagues at work lost her only child. Her son was only 18 years old. Just starting out in life.

In addition to feeling extremely sad for her and her family, like many others today I have found myself thinking about my own children. Have I told them I love them recently? Have they only heard harsh words from me lately?

So today, I don’t have any philosophical reflections or deep insights to share.

I just want to tell my kids and family that I love them. Give hugs to those within reach.

And say a prayer that Sarah will find the strength to get through the difficult days ahead.

One Comment Add yours

  1. Sorry to hear about your friend’s loss. No one can ever be prepared for something of that magnitude. And thank you for reminding us to squeeze our loved ones a little tighter.

    Like

Do you have a comment or feedback?

